We are honored to share the news that Kurtlab and our collaborators in U of Illinois at Urbana Champaign are awarded $500,000 by National Science Foundation CMMI Dynamics, Control and System Diagnostics program to develop novel nonlinear-dynamics based model updating strategies for studying the mechanics of biomaterials. This project is in collaboration with Prof.s Alexander Vakakis and Lawrence Bergman from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Further information about the grant can be found in the below links.

Kurtlab graduate students Efe Ozkaya and Zeynep Suar win competitive Stevens graduate fellowships.

Efe received the Innovation and Entrepreneurship (I&E) Fellowship, a 2-year fellowship offered by the Stevens Office of Innovation & Entrepreneurship. His proposal on developing advanced actuation and inversion techniques for magnetic resonance elastography was one of the 4 proposal chosen out of 45.

Zeynep received the Provost Fellowship offered by the Provost Office at Stevens, a one-year fellowship offered only to the top student admitted to the ME PhD program. She is joining Kurtlab in August'17.

Congrats Efe and Zeynep!!

Dr. Gloria Fabris graduated from the University of Trieste (Italy) with a Bachelor's degree in Physics in 2010 and went on to earn a Master's Degree in Biophysics from the Catholic University of Leuven (Belgium) in 2012. During her Ph.D. in Cellular Biomechanics, she focussed on studying the role of cytoskeleton and basement membranes for the mechanical properties of single epithelial cells and 3D microtissues. After graduating from the University of Bonn (Germany) in Nov. 2016, she joined Kurtlab as a Postdoctoral fellow working on cellular and multiscale brain biomechanics.

  • Twitter